Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Fifty students named recipients of Mayor's Scholarship funds

Fifty students from area schools will be awarded scholarships totaling $50,000 at the Mayor’s Scholarship Fund Ceremony on  March 18 at 6:30 p.m. at the Shilo Inn in Idaho Falls.

This number is up from 32 awarded last year. 

The fund supports two different awards, the  Senior Scholarship, for graduating
seniors, in the amount of $1,500; and the Mayor’s Promise Award, in the amount of $500 for students in grades 8-11 who agree to maintain a college-bound path. Both awards are intended for use at accredited institutions of higher education in Idaho. The Mayor’s Promise Award can also be applied to dual credit courses taken in Idaho high schools. Dual credit courses allow students to obtain college credits while working toward their high school diploma.  

The program dates back to 2006 and was established by Idaho Falls Mayor Jared Fuhriman in partnership with the District 91 Education Foundation. Since then, it has awarded 248 scholarships totaling hundreds of thousands of dollars. An endowment fund was also established.

Here are the names of the students who received awards.

2014 Senior Recipients
Alexandra Brabec Hillcrest
Parker Erikson  Idaho Falls High
Taylor Gunnell  Hillcrest
Jesenia Hernandez Idaho Falls High
Lelainne Horvath Skyline 
Natasha Hughes  Idaho Falls High
Corbin John   Idaho Falls High
Bailey McBride   Hillcrest
Sydney Mecham  Hillcrest
Madison Molino   Idaho Falls High
Katelyn Morgan   Hillcrest
Kennadee Moss   Idaho Falls High
Veronica Nield   Idaho Falls High
Karissa Olson  Hillcrest
Kali Parkinson  Bonneville
Lesly Rodriquez  Emerson High
Marlee Smith  Bonneville
Megan Smith  Skyline
Jacob Taggart   Idaho Falls
Haylea Thomason  Bonneville
Xenya Valdez  Bonneville
Olivia Webb  Idaho Falls High
Kylie Weber   Skyline
Mikaela Wilkins   Skyline
Elon Joshua Wood Skyline
2014 Promise Recipients
Payton Batte  Eagle Rock
Ethan Bauer   Eagle Rock
Brianna Duncan  American Heritage
Kylee Bourdeau  Eagle Rock
Shayley Stevens   Skyline
Maria Flores   Eagle Rock
Jared Anderson  Eagle Rock
Misty Bills   Skyline
Ashley Butikofer  Bonneville
Kenidee Casper  Rocky Mountain
Jessica Dennert   Skyline
Hollyn Drake  Sandcreek
Elijah Duguette  Idaho Falls
Oaklee Gose   Taylorview
Jason Hale   Hillcrest
Emily Josephson  Skyline
Adrianna Larimer  Eagle Rock
Brizeyda Martinez-Sanchez Skyline
BreaAnna Miller  Tech Careers Bonneville
Maria Nunez   Sandcreek
MiKirah Olsen  Taylorview
Chase Owen   Skyline
Julia Rice   Skyline
Tessa Tirrell   Taylorview
Lexi Webster  Hillcrest