Monday, March 3, 2014

INL honors researchers, inventors for achievements in 2013

A.J. "Gus" Caffrey
The Idaho National Laboratory honored more than 100 researchers and inventors Friday night at its annual recognition event, held this year at the Energy Innovation Laboratory in Idaho Falls.

This was the 18th such reception, and honored the lab's achievements in 2013, including the receipt of 39 new patents, the application for 21 new patents and the submission of 32 new inventions for evaluation. The work that goes on at the lab may be used by U.S. government agencies and also licensed for commercialization.

This year's honorees included:
  • Joshua Daw for Exceptional Engineering Achievement,
  • Aaron Wilson for Early Career Exceptional Achievement,
  • Douglas Porter for Individual Lifetime Achievement in Science and Technology
  • A.J. "Gus" Caffrey, Inventor of the Year
  • Albert Smith, Technician of the Year
INL is one of the U.S. Department of Energy's 10 multi-program national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of DOE's strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation's leading center for nuclear energy research and development. Day-to-day management and operation of the laboratory is the responsibility of Battelle Energy Alliance.