Friday, June 11, 2021

Fall River Electric ballot features seven candidates

Fall River Electric members will be electing three board members this month from a slate of seven candidates.

As a non-profit electric cooperative, one of the guiding principles of Fall River Electric is democratic member control under which an elected nine-member board of directors provides the strategic direction, sets policies, and makes decisions to ensure the Cooperative’s financial viability. Each year, owner-members (customers) of the co-op have the opportunity to electric three board members that will each serve a three-year term.

This year, seven candidates are running for board positions from three of the nine districts.
Those districts including District 1 Rexburg/Rigby area, District 5 that encompasses an area
from northwest Driggs on through the Tetonia and Felt area, and finally, District 6 which is the
Ashton area. All members of the cooperative are eligible to vote for these candidates no matter
where members reside since the board represents all owner-members. Voting can be done
online, by mail-in ballot or in-person at the Cooperative’s Energy Expo to be held on June 19,
2021, at North Fremont High School in Ashton. Winning candidates will be announced at the
conclusion of the business meeting portion of the Energy Expo on June 19.

This year District 1 incumbent Brent “Husk” Crowther is seeking a second term and is joined on
the ballot by fellow Hibbard area resident Rick Clements. Incumbent Brent Robson is seeking a
fourth term in District 5 where he faces newcomer Emily Nichols, while three candidates via for
one position in District 6. Dede Draper is seeking her third term where she faces fellow Ashton
area resident Britney Stegelmeier and Greg Bitter of the St. Anthony area.

Video statements from each candidate can be viewed on Fall River Electric’s website at
www.fallriverelectric.com by clicking the link “Energy Expo.

Written statements from each candidate can be found in the Energy Expo booklet along with
the ballot for mail-in voting which has been mailed to every owner-member of the Co-op.